But what is gluten?

Portugal_256
Versão Portuguesa

In the production of flour, cereals such as wheat, barley, oats and rye among others, inside the grain there’s a pericarp and germ / embryo that are used in this process.

On the one hand the starch does not affect in any way the celiac patient, but there are proteins that dissolve in water (albumins and globulins), and the insoluble proteins generically called GLUTEN, wich isolated result in various effects harmful to celiac. Then, the proteins that do not dissolve in cereals are the ones that contain the gluten as detrimental to celiac.

It’s just the gluten that interests us, as its “aggressiveness” that depends on the composition varies in different cereals as wheat, rye and barley must be completely removed from the celiac diet, others such as corn and rice are perfectly harmless .

Oats in Gluten Free Diet (GFD) is still controversial internationally, since some studies indicate that, although to a lesser degree, the prolamins of oats are aggressive for celiacs and others claim the opposite. What happens is that oats, even gluten-free, it’s often planted and processed together with the wheat and rye, can occur “contamination”.

From a practical way, we can see gluten as gum/rubber that connects the dough (bread, cakes, cookies, pasta, etc..) when we withdraw those elements we’ll have a lighter meal that produce food with a weaker consistency, for example, the cookies will crumble more.

Some foods that do not contain gluten are corn, rice, soybean, cassava, potato, quinoa, sunflower, amaranth, coconut and fruits, among others.

But what happens to the ingestion of gluten? (Select – Symptoms of DC)

Deixar uma resposta

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *